MOAPA VALLEY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF FIRE COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner: Les Lee Shell, Deputy County Manager

Recommendation:

Reappoint Joe Davis, Anthony Rivera, Adam Smith, and Chance Munford to the Moapa Valley Fire Protection District Advisory Board for a two-year term ending February 1, 2024. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	N/A	Fund Name:	N/A
Fund Center:	N/A	Funded PGM/Grant:	N/A
Amount:	N/A	·	
Description:	N/A		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

BACKGROUND:

The Moapa Valley Fire Protection District (District) was created pursuant to NRS 474.460 and Clark County Code Chapter 3.20. The District was created for the protection of property, public health, safety, and welfare of the inhabitants of Clark County. Specifically, the District provides for the prevention and extinguishment of fires and the provision of emergency medical services in the unincorporated areas within Clark County generally located, described, and comprising the following: from the northerly Warm Springs area, Moapa, Moapa Valley, Logandale, Overton, the Valley of Fire, and southerly, including the Echo Bay area.

The Moapa Valley Fire Protection District Advisory Board (Advisory Board) provides assistance to the Board of Fire Commissioners (BFC). The Advisory Board receives and reviews monthly reports from the three (3) station Assistant Fire Chiefs pertaining to station operations, improvement requests, physical updates, bills, and purchase requests. Moreover, the Advisory Board makes recommendations to the BFC for the approval or denial of payments on all monetary requests to be paid out of the approved operating and capital improvement budgets.

The Advisory Board members are appointed by the BFC. Each member appointed to the Advisory Board are appointed to two-year (2-year) terms beginning in February. All Advisory Board members serve at the pleasure of the BFC.

At the January 3, 2022 Advisory Board meeting, the Advisory Board recommended that Joe Davis be reappointed as the citizen non-volunteer firefighter; Anthony Rivera be reappointed to represent the Logandale Fire Station (Station 73); Adam Smith be reappointed to represent the Moapa Fire Station (Station 72); and Chance Munford be reappointed to represent the Overton Fire Station (Station 74).

The BFC is asked to reappoint Joe Davis, Anthony Rivera, Adam Smith and Chance Munford for two-year (2-year) terms ending February 1, 2024.

Cleared for Agenda 01/18/2022 File ID# 22-0084