CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner: Timothy Burch, Administrator of Human Services

Recommendation:

Authorize the Chair to appoint five (5) members to the Local Law Enforcement Advisory Committee (LLEAC), including three (3) Clark County Commissioners (Tick Segerblom, Chair; William McCurdy II, Vice-Chair; and Michael Naft) and two (2) Las Vegas City Council members (Stavros Anthony and Cedric Crear), for a one-year term expiring September 30, 2023. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	2031.000	Fund Name:	JAG
Fund Center:	1080719000	Funded PGM/Grant:	Edward Byrne Justice Assistance
			Grant
Amount:	\$0		
Description:	LLEAC Member Appointments		
Additional Comments:	No fiscal impact		

BACKGROUND:

Since 1996, with the exception of FY2009 and FY2011, Clark County has been the recipient and administrative agent of funding received from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) for the Local Law Enforcement Block Grant and its successor, the Justice Assistance Grant (JAG). These funds have supported various local government agencies and nonprofit organizations in their efforts to undertake criminal prosecution of violent offenders, conduct peer mediation/conflict resolution in the public school system, reduce gang violence, and implement other programs aimed at reducing crime and promoting public safety. The Local Law Enforcement Advisory Committee (LLEAC) makes JAG award allocation recommendations for grant agreements with local government agencies and nonprofit organizations. It is recommended that Board of County Commissioners appoint as LLEAC members Commissioner Tick Segerblom (Chair), William McCurdy II (Vice-Chair), and Michael Naft, as well as Las Vegas City Council members Stavros Anthony and Cedric Crear, for a one-year term expiring September 30, 2023. The District Attorney's Office has reviewed and approved this item as to form.

Cleared for Agenda 09/20/2022 File ID# 22-1342