## CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

**Petitioner:** Timothy Burch, Administrator of Human Services

## **Recommendation:**

Approve and authorize the Chair to appoint 26 members (including 12 Representatives, 13 At-Large members and an alternate, and 1 appointee from participating cities) to the Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) from the list of the following nominees: (Representing 12 Town Advisory Boards and/Citizens Advisory Councils) Representatives Peter Sarles, Colleen Hicks, Kathy Ochs, Tanya Harrah, Misty Haji-Sheikh, Katlyn Cunningham, Christine Brown, Michele Brown, Brian Morris, Alexandria Malone, Karen Miller, John Delibos and Alternates Justin Maffett, Debbie Smith, Herman Walker, Roger Haywood, Harry Williams, Geraldine Ramirez, and Robert Mikes, (Representing 13 At-Large) Jacqueline Ingram, Dontae Scott, Robert Torres, Eric Hilbrecht, Christopher Lee, Lois Greene, Donna Darden, Anita Wood, Nancy Ramirez Ayala, Brittany Bowling, Monica Gresser, Carrie Cox, Eric Jeng, and Alternate: Irene Boylan; recognize the appointments of one member to CDAC made by the participating cities, Jeff Alpert (North Las Vegas); and appoint a Chairperson for the committee. (For possible action)

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

Fund #:	2011.000	Fund Name:	HUD and State Housing Grants
Fund Center:	1080719000	Funded PGM/Grant:	N/A
Amount:	N/A		
Description:	Appointment to Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC)		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

## **BACKGROUND:**

The Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) provides a vehicle for citizen participation into the County's U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development grant program. CDAC meetings for the County's HOME and Emergency Solutions Grant programs will be held from December 2022 through January 2023. The Committee will work with staff in developing project selection priorities, reviewing proposals, holding public hearings, making funding recommendations, and monitoring program implementation.

Committee composition includes a representative and alternate from each of the town advisory boards, citizens advisory councils, and from the Cities of North Las Vegas, Mesquite, and Boulder City, as well as fourteen atlarge individuals representing general community concerns. Town advisory boards and citizens' advisory councils have submitted nominees for Commission appointment except for Indian Springs, Lone Mountain, Lower Kyle Canyon, and Red Rock. The nominations for the town advisory boards and citizens' advisory councils of Bunkerville, Moapa, and Moapa Valley will be made at future meetings. The Cities of North Las Vegas, Boulder City, and Mesquite are authorized to make their own respective appointments who serve in an ex-officio manner. The Cities of Boulder City and Mesquite declined representation. The Commission is responsible for monitoring and appointing the 14 at-large members. It is recommended that Ms. Donna Darden serve as Chairperson.

Cleared for Agenda

**11/15/2022** File ID#

The District Attorney's Office has reviewed and approved this item as to form.