CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner: Les Lee Shell, Deputy County Manager

Recommendation:

Appoint 3 qualified members to the Clark County Planning Commission for a fouryear term ending January 4, 2027, from the list of the following applicants: Steve Kirk, Vivian Kilarski and Leslie Mujica. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	N/A	Fund Name:	N/A
Fund Center:	N/A	Funded PGM/Grant:	N/A
Amount:	N/A		
Description:	N/A		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

BACKGROUND:

NRS 278.030 provides for the creation of the Clark County Planning Commission (Planning Commission), and that the Planning Commission shall consist of seven (7) members. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Clark County Board of County Commissioners (County Commission) on the comprehensive plan, including the various land use plans, non-conforming zone changes, and certain other types of land use applications. With some exceptions, their decisions are final action on land use requests and subdivision maps.

Pursuant to NRS 278.040, appointments to the Planning Commission are made by the Chair of the County Commission with the approval of the governing body. The term of a Planning Commission member is coterminous with the term of the member of the County Commission who recommends his or her appointment.

The County Commission is asked to appoint the following qualified individuals as Planning Commissioners:

- Steve Kirk (nominated for appointment by Commissioner Jim Gibson); and
- Vivian Kilarski (nominated for appointment by Commissioner Tick Segerblom); and
- Leslie Mujica (nominated for appointment by Commissioner Justin Jones)

The County Commission is asked to appoint these three (3) qualified individuals to the Clark County Planning Commission for a four-year (4-year) term beginning January 3, 2023 and ending January 4, 2027.

Cleared for Agenda

01/03/2023 File ID#