CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner:	Kevin	Schiller,	County	Manager
-------------	-------	-----------	--------	---------

Recommendation:

Appoint a qualified nominee to fill a vacancy in the Nevada Assembly District 10, vacated by Assemblywoman Rochelle T. Nguyen for the remainder of a term to expire upon the next regular election from the following list of nominees received by Assembly Speaker Designate Steve Yeager: Sabra Smith Newby; or take other action as deemed appropriate. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	N/A	Fund Name:	N/A
Fund Center:	N/A	Funded PGM/Grant:	N/A
Amount:	N/A		
Description:	N/A		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

BACKGROUND:

On December 20, 2022, the Clark County Board of County Commissioners appointed Assemblywoman Rochelle T. Nguyen to the fill the vacancy in Nevada State Senate District 3. The appointment of Senator Rochelle T. Nguyen created a vacancy in Assembly District 10.

On January 4, 2023, pursuant to NRS 218A.260 and NRS 218A.262, Nevada Assembly Speaker Designate Steve Yeager submitted Sabra Smith Newby as a qualified nominee to the Board of County Commissioners to the fill the vacancy in Nevada Assembly District 10 for the remaining period of the unexpired term of office.