CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner: Timothy Burch, Administrator of Human Services

Recommendation:

Authorize the Chair to appoint 5 members to the Local Law Enforcement Advisory Committee (LLEAC), including three (3) Clark County Commissioners Tick Segerblom, William McCurdy II, and Michael Naft and two (2) Las Vegas City Council members Stavros Anthony and Cedric Crear; and designate a Chair and Vice-Chair for a term expiring September 30, 2021. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	2031.000	Fund Name:	JAG
Fund Center:	1080719000	Funded PGM/Grant:	Edward Byrne Justice Assistance
			Grant
Amount:	\$0		
Description:	LLEAC Member Appointments		
Additional Comments:	No fiscal impact		

BACKGROUND:

Since 1996, with the exception of FY2009 and FY2011, Clark County has been the recipient and administrative agent of funding received from the Bureau of Justice (BJA) for the Local Law Enforcement Block Grant and its success, the Justice Assistance Grant (JAG). These funds have supported various local government agencies and nonprofit organizations in their efforts to undertake criminal prosecution of violent offenders, conduct peer mediation/conflict resolution in the public school system, reduce gang violence, and implement other programs aimed at reducing crime and promoting public safety.

To ensure a fair and equitable distribution of funds, the Board established the Local Law Enforcement Advisory Committee (LLEAC). The LLEAC is tasked to review the County's spending plan for local law enforcement block grant funds and to make recommendations to the Board regarding the spending plan.

On April 6, 2021, a Public Hearing was scheduled to for the April 20th Board of County Commissioners meeting.

On April 20, 2021, the Public Hearing was conducted, at which time Commissioner Tick Segerblom proposed an amendment to Clark County Code Chapter 3.72. The Board of County Commissioners approved and adopted the amendment to update membership provisions of the LLEAC, to be comprised of three Board of County Commissioner members and two Las Vegas City Council members.

It is recommended that Board of County Commissioners Tick Segerblom, William McCurdy II, and Michael Naft, as well as Las Vegas City Council members Stavros Anthony and Cedric Crear be appointed as LLEAC members and serve a term thru September 30, 2021.

The District Attorney's Office has reviewed and approved this item as to form.

Cleared for Agenda 05/18/2021 File ID# 21-667