CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner: Yolanda T. King, County Manager

Recommendation:

Extend the current terms of Debbie Burgos, Michael Frye, Dave DesMarais, Ken Freeman, Kenny Thatcher, Ross Williams, and Steve Paxton as members of the Clark County Off-Highway Vehicle Advisory Committee until August 7, 2024; and designate a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Clark County Off-Highway Vehicle Advisory Committee. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	N/A	Fund Name:	N/A
Fund Center:	N/A	Funded PGM/Grant:	N/A
Amount:	N/A		
Description:	N/A		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

BACKGROUND:

The Clark County Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Advisory Committee was formed after direction by the Clark County Board of County Commissioners (County Commission) in June 2018. The goal of the OHV Advisory Committee is to develop consensus and provide recommendations to Clark County regarding OHV recreation that also meets the County's interests and needs pertaining to future economic growth and development.

At the August 7, 2018 County Commission meeting, nine (9) individuals were appointed to the OHV Advisory Committee. There is one (1) additional member of the OHV Advisory Committee that represents the Nevada Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles. The terms of membership of the OHV Advisory Committee are three-years (3-years). One (1) member of the OHV Advisory Committee serves as the chairperson, and one (1) member serves as the vice chairperson.

The current members are Debbie Burgos, Michael Frye, Dave DesMarais, Ken Freeman, Kenny Thatcher, Ross Williams, and Steve Paxton. Their terms are due expire on August 7, 2021.

Chair Kirkpatrick has requested that the County Commission extend the terms of the current members for an additional three-years (3-years). Staff will coordinate with the Governor's Office regarding the extension of the member that represents the Nevada Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles.

The County Commission is asked to extend the terms of the current members until August 7, 2024. Additionally, the County Commission is asked to designate a chairperson and vice chairperson of the OHV Advisory Committee.

Cleared for Agenda

06/15/2021 File ID#