CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM

Petitioner: Jerome A. Stueve, Director of Building & Fire Prevention

Recommendation:

Appoint eight (8) qualified individuals to serve on the Combined Board of Building Appeals Committee for a four-year term commencing October 19, 2021, from the list of following applicants: Ryan Kronbetter, Robert Potter, Benjamin Rogers, Steve Schiller, Timothy Douglas, Matthew Dyka, Jordan Krahenbuhl, Rocco Prock, Brad Geinzer, Michael Gentille, Terry Johnson, John Connolly, Michael Westerhaus, Douglas Benton, and Marla McPherson. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:

Fund #:	N/A	Fund Name:	N/A
Fund Center:	N/A	Funded PGM/Grant:	N/A
Amount:	N/A		
Description:	N/A		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

BACKGROUND:

Clark County Building Administrative Code, Chapter 22.02.155, the Combined Board of Building Appeals (CBBA) is created to hear and decide appeals of determinations made by the building official relative to the application and interpretation of the technical codes. The combined board of appeals is authorized to hear appeals relating to the Building Code of Clark County, the Residential Code of Clark County, the Electrical Code of Clark County, the Mechanical Code of Clark County, the Plumbing Code of Clark County, the Swimming Pool and Spa Code of Clark County, the Energy Conservation Code of Clark County, the Amusement and Transportation Systems Code of Clark County, the Sign Code of Clark County, and the Existing Building Code of Clark County. Appeals relating to the Abatement of Dangerous Buildings Code of Clark County are subject to Chapter 11.06 of the Clark County Code. The combined board of building appeals is authorized to review proposed alternate materials and methods of construction when the matter is referred to the board by the building official pursuant to section 22.02.075.

The Board is comprised of eight (8) members representing industry and the community in addition to the Building Official. The members shall be qualified by training and experience to decide matters pertaining to building construction and building service equipment. The members shall not be employees of Clark County. The members of the Board consist of one architect registered by the State of Nevada, one general contractor licensed by the State of Nevada, one professional civil or structural engineer licensed by the State of Nevada, one representative of the residential construction industry, one master electrician or qualified individual in an electrical category as defined in the Electrical Code of Clark County, one professional mechanical engineer licensed by the State of Nevada, one layperson; and one representative of the amusement and transportation systems industry.

Cleared for Agenda

10/19/2021 File ID# 21-1487 All eight (8) seats are currently vacant on the CBBA. Staff received applications from the following individuals for the perspective positions:

Architect registered by the State of Nevada:

1) Kronbetter, Ryan

General contractor licensed by the State of Nevada:

1) Potter, Robert

Professional civil or structural engineer licensed by the State of Nevada:

- 1) Rogers, Benjamin
- 2) Schiller, Steve
- 3) Douglas, Timothy

Representative of the residential construction industry:

- 1) Dyka, Matthew
- 2) Krahenbuhl, Jordan

Master electrician or qualified individual in an electrical category as defined in the Electrical Code of Clark County:

1) Prock, Rocco

Professional mechanical engineer licensed by the State of Nevada:

1) Geinzer, Brad

Layperson:

- 1) Gentille, Michael
- 2) Krahenbuhl, Jordan
- 3) Johnson, Terry
- 4) Connolly, John
- 5) Westerhaus, Michael
- 6) Benton, Douglas

Representative of the amusement and transportation systems industry:

1) McPherson, Marla

The County Commission is asked to appoint eight (8) members, one (1) individual for each vacant seat, to the CBBA for a four-year (4-year) term. Appointed members will serve without compensation a four-year (4-year) term beginning October 19, 2021 and continuing through October 19, 2025.