## **CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AGENDA ITEM**

Timothy Burch, Administrator of Human Services **Petitioner:** 

## **Recommendation:**

Approve and authorize the Chair to appoint 30 members (including 15 Representatives, 14 At-Large members, and 1 appointee from participating cities) to the Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) from the list of the following nominees: (Representing 15 Town Advisory Boards and Citizens Advisory Councils) Representatives Laren Abbott, Peter Sarles, Colleen Hicks, Megan Porter, Misty Haji-Sheikh, Roger Haywood, Michele Brown, Alexandria Malone, Kathy Ochs, Brian Morris, Karen Miller, Bob Lyman, Barbara Luke, Tanya Harrah, and Christine Brown and Alternates Thomas LoPresti, Debbie Smith, Katlyn Cunningham, Patricia Mayne, Rodney Bell, Briceida Castro, Deb **Cameron, Geraldine Ramirez, and Pamela Walker (Representing 14 At-Large)** Jacqueline Ingram, Dontae Scott, Eric Hilbrecht, Christopher Lee, Lois Greene, Christopher Darling, Donna Darden, Anita Wood, Nancy Ramirez Ayala, Brittany Bowling, Monica Gresser, Carrie Cox, Eric Jeng, and Erica Mosca; recognize the appointments of one member to CDAC made by the participating cities, Jeff Alpert (North Las Vegas); and appoint a Chairperson for the committee. (For possible action)

FISCAL IMPACT:		
Fund #:	2011.000	Fund Name:
Fund Center	1080719000	Funded PGM

## TOCAL DADACT

Fund Center:	1080719000	Funded PGM/Grant: N/A	
Amount:	N/A		
Description:	Appointment to the Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC)		
Additional Comments:	N/A		

## **BACKGROUND:**

The Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) provides a vehicle for citizen participation into the County's U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development grant program. CDAC meetings for the County's HOME and Emergency Solutions Grant programs will be held monthly through January 2022, beginning November 2021. The Committee will work with staff in developing project selection priorities, reviewing proposals, holding public hearings, making funding recommendations, and monitoring program implementation.

Committee composition includes a representative and alternate from each of the town advisory boards, citizens advisory councils, and from the Cities of North Las Vegas, Mesquite, and Boulder City, as well as fourteen atlarge individuals representing general community concerns. Town advisory boards and citizens' advisory

> Cleared for Agenda 11/16/2021 File ID# 21-1613

HUD and State Housing Grants

councils have submitted nominees for Commission appointment with the exception of the Indian Springs TAB which declined representation. The nominations for the town advisory boards and citizens' advisory councils of Lower Kyle Canyon, Winchester, and Lone Mountain will be made at future meeting. The Cities of North Las Vegas, Boulder City, and Mesquite are authorized to make their own respective appointments who serve in an exofficio manner. The Cities of Boulder City and Mesquite declined representation. The Commission is responsible for monitoring and appointing the 14 at-large members. It is recommended that Ms. Donna Darden serve as Chairperson.

The District Attorney's Office has reviewed and approved this item as to form.